WILL YOUNG LATINOS VOTE FOR OBAMA ?

Posted on May 24, 2011

0


TO: ALL MEDIA                                                                                      

FROM: FAMILIA LATINA UNIDA/SIN FRONTERAS

RE: PRESS CONFERENCE AND MASS VOTER REGISTRATION KICK OFF      

WEDNESDAY, MAY 25TH, 4:30 TO 7:00 p.m.

2242 S DAMEN, CHICAGO, IL. (Lincoln Unied Methodist Church_

CONTACT:  Emma Lozano: 773-671-1798, Rev Walter L Coleman: 773-671-1755   

 

 

“LOCKBOX VOTER REGISTRATION DRIVE” CHALLENGES OBAMA TO STOP THE DEPORTATIONS – OR LOSE THE LATINO VOTE !

“We begin today the “Lockbox Voter Registration Drive.” We will take this campaign across the nation until we have collected 2 million votes – votes that President Obama can have IF HE KEEPS HIS PROMISE, IF HE USES THE POWER WE GAVE HIM AS PRESIDENT TO STOP THE DEPORTATIONS AND SEPARATION OF FAMILIES

The voter registration drive that begins on Wednesday, May 25th, in Pilsen’s Lincoln United Methodist Church may well be unique in U.S. history –and those who are registering to vote have good reason to value their right to vote – and their right to withhold their vote.

On Wednesday 300 very special people will register to vote. Then they will fill out a “ballot” selecting Barack Obama for President – and then they will put that ballot in a “Lockbox.”

“Our votes will not come out of the Lockbox until Barack Obama uses his lawful Presidential discretion to stop the deportations of the families of U.S. citizens and dream act eligible children and their families.”

The three hundred people beginning the Lockbox voter registration drive represent three categories of people who very well could determine the selection of the next President of the United States.

One million Latino U.S. citizens will turn 18 by the next election and become eligible to vote. Ivette Flores  says: “My vote is going in the Lockbox because I come from a family of undocumented parents. I have seen them struggle their entire lives because they do not have the privileges that documented people have.”

Millions of U.S. citizens have a family member who is undocumented.Roberto Aquirre, a U.S. citizen whose wife faces deportation says, “She is the mother of my children. She is my life. Last time I voted for him but If Obama wants my vote then he must let her stay here with her family, with me.”

There are nine million people who are legal permanent residents and who could become eligible to vote in the next Presidential election if they apply for citizenship this year: Miriam Perez says this: “On Saturday, I completed my application to become a U.S. citizen. I have faced discrimination. I have been deported with my new born child, separated from my husband, treated like garbage. I returned legally and worked  my way through college. I know what my people are suffering. You better believe that I will make my vote count. You better believe that President Obama will have to stop persecuting my people if he wants my vote to come out of the lockbox.”

Each of the hundreds of people who will register to vote on Wednesday – and then put their Obama Ballot in the Lockbox- have a personal story, a personal struggle and personal relationships with members of our community.

“We are citizens – able to vote – but we feel the pain of the undocumented, of the children whose parents are being ripped away from them, the young people whose lives are being destroyed. We will not forget.”

“We begin today the “Lockbox Voter Registration Drive.” We will take this campaign across the nation until we have collected 2 million votes – votes that President Obama can have – IF HE KEEPS HIS PROMISE, IF HE USES THE POWER WE GAVE HIM AS PRESIDENT TO STOP THE DEPORTATIONS AND SEPARATION OF FAMILIES.”

PRESS CONFERENCE WEDNESDAY, MAY 25TH, 4:30 p.m.

 MASS VOTER REGISTRATION KICK-OFF 4:30 TO 7:00 p.m.

2242 S DAMEN, CHICAGO, IL.

 (Lincoln United Methodist Church)

Posted in: Uncategorized